Governor General's Awards in Visual and Media Arts

Press Release

2010 Governor General's Award Winners

Sure we have lousy winters here in Canada, but no other country comes even close to encouraging and nurturing Art and Artists the way Canada does - and we hope to keep it that way, yes, I'm talking to you Prime Minister Harper (with utmost respect of course).

Today, at the Cinémathèque Québécoise here in Montreal, the winners of the 2010 Governor General's Awards in Visual and Media Arts were announced and the winners, eight very talented Canadians, are:

Awards for Artistic Achievement:
Haida sculptor Robert Davidson
Filmmaker André Forcier
Painter Rita Letendre
Video artist Tom Sherman
Photographer Gabor Szilasi
Painter Claude Tousignant

Additionally, Terry Ryan was awarded the Outstanding Contribution Award for his contributions as General Manger of West Baffin Eskimo Co-Op in Cape Dorset, Nunavut, and Director of Dorset Fine Arts in Toronto, ON. Finally, glass sculptor Ione Thorkelsson won the Saidye Bronfman Award for Excellence in Fine Crafts.

The winners are selected by an independent peer jury of experienced visual and media arts professionals.

"The winners of the Governor General's Awards in Visual and Media Arts have all revealed their originality, sometimes in a bold, even provocative manner," said her Excellency the Right Honourable Michaëlle Jean, Governor General of Canada, "The diversity of their art helps us to expand and challenge our vision of the world. Bearing meaning and emotion, their works unite us around a unique experience."

The 2010 awards will be presented by the Governor General herself at a ceremony at Rideau Hall on March 31st. Each award includes a $ 25,000.00 CAD prize and in addition the winners will each receive a work created by winnder of a 2009 Governor General's Award, Mr. Tony Urquhart.

Older Post Newer Post